fast car!

working on some haikus…experimenting with translating ’em: 1993_10_04_Sorel_Centaur

I witness the scenes // Veo escenas
I feel the duty to write// Me obligan escribir
These are things I feel:// Esto lo siento:

I dream I am gold // Un sueño mio
And my teeth are gold nuggets // Estoy hecha de oro
Perhaps I feel rich // Quizás soy rica

My one blue-eyed boy // Ojos azules
Says his beard grows too quickly// Dice su barba crece
No explanation // Sin explicación

Under the city // Bajo la ciudad
A labyrinth for people // Laberinto de gente
Or, for worms and rats // O, gusanitos

The mole on her neck // Lunar sobre piel
Looks like a Belgian truffle // Como la trufa Belga
Raised, soft and bitter // Suave, amarga

The bustle of streets // Calle movida
A fat snow-crusted pretzel // Bollo con nieve dulce
Drops towards the ground // Abandonado

I speak with grandma // Con la abuela
Only speaks of the sunshine // Solo menciona el sol
And maybe the cat // También su gato

At Coney Island // Una gaviota
The seagull squawks and dances // Me canta y me baila
It wants my pink cake // Busca mi pastel

I am observer // Observadora
This is the way I enjoy // Es mi forma de gozar
A reason to be // Mi razón de ser

gaborkerekes (gabor kerekes) going to california in week giveortake:tumblr_mtm0ekZOnM1qgjplzo1_500

bryanschutmaat (bryan schutmaat)

Leave a Reply

